Art scene in the 60s

Sigmar Polke studied at the Düsseldorf Art Academy in the early 1960s. He was part of the legendary class of Karl Otto Götz, which also included Gerhard Richter, Konrad Lueg and Manfred Kuttner. With this circle of like-minded ones he founded “capitalistic realism” in 1963.

Pop_Art

The movement was close to Pop Art and was an ironic dissociation from “Socialist Realism”, from whose sphere of influence the four students had originally fled. Polke and Richter were close friends during their studies, organized a joint exhibition in 1966. For the artist book, they even took pictures together in the bathtub. It should stay at this one joint exhibition. The paths diverged in the future: Polke was wilder and worked more experimental, Richter painted systematically in large groups of works.

 

Polke also attended lectures in Düsseldorf by Joseph Beuys. In the only big interview ever given by Polke, the bizarre Fluxus actions came to mind when he talked about the ’60s: he sat under the table and bit the passers-by in the leg, his friend Blinky Palermo smashed eggs over his bald head. At that time Dusseldorf was the stronghold of the German art scene, the stronghold of rebellion against bourgeois conservatism of the postwar period. Beuys hosted the Fluxus Festival with George Maciunas and Nam June Paik, and bands such as Kraftwerk played in the cult pub “Creamcheese”. Zero artists Otto Piene, Günther Uecker and Heinz Mack were also in town. Pop, Fluxus and Zero merge in “Paris am Rhein” to the creative breeding ground of Sigmar Polke.

 

Sigmar Polke
Hippies_aus_Duesseldorf

In the early 1970s Polke moved to Willich on the Gaspelhof. The “hippies from Düsseldorf” lived and painted here together. For many of the works of art that were created here, it is not clear who painted them at all.

 

Only that much is certain: Polke was almost always involved. The attraction of the creative center Gaspelhof went far beyond the Düsseldorf scene: Carl Andre, one of the founding fathers of Minimal Art, visited the place as did performance-art stars Gilbert & George. Even the younger Martin Kippenberger, who was still studying in Hamburg when Polke was already a lecturer there, was a welcome guest on the Gaspelhof.

Wenn Sie mehr Informationen erhalten möchten, kontaktieren Sie uns:

We are proud to provide you with additional information.

Kunstszene in den 60er Jahren

Sigmar Polke studierte in den frühen 1960er-Jahren an der Düsseldorfer Kunstakademie. Er war Teil der legendären Klasse von Karl Otto Götz, zu der auch Gerhard Richter, Konrad Lueg und Manfred Kuttner gehörten. Mit diesem Kreis von Gleichgesinnten gründete er 1963 den „Kapitalistischen Realismus“.

Pop_Art

Die Bewegung stand der Pop-Art nahe und war eine ironische Abgrenzung zum „Sozialistischen Realismus“, aus dessen Einflussgebiet die vier Studenten ursprünglich geflüchtet waren. Polke und Richter waren während ihrer Studienzeit eng befreundet, veranstalteten 1966 eine gemeinsame Ausstellung. Für das Künstlerbuch ließen sie sich sogar gemeinsam in der Badewanne fotografieren. Es sollte bei dieser einen gemeinsamen Ausstellung bleiben. Die Wege gingen zukünftig auseinander: Polke war wilder und arbeitete experimenteller, Richter malte systematisch in großen Werkgruppen.

 

Polke besuchte in Düsseldorf auch die Lehrveranstaltungen von Joseph Beuys. In seinem einzigen großen Interview, das Polke jemals gegeben hatte, kamen ihm beim Erzählen über die 60er-Jahre vor allem die bizarren Fluxus-Aktionen in den Sinn: er saß unterm Tisch und biss den Passanten ins Bein, sein Studienfreund Blinky Palermo schlug sich Eier über die Glatze. Düsseldorf war zu jener Zeit die Hochburg der deutschen Kunstszene, die Hochburg der Rebellion gegen den bürgerlichen Konservatismus der Nachkriegszeit. Beuys veranstaltete mit George Maciunas und Nam June Paik das Fluxus-Festival, in der Kultkneipe „Creamcheese“ spielten Bands wie Kraftwerk. Auch die Zero-Künstler Otto Piene, Günther Uecker und Heinz Mack waren in der Stadt. Pop, Fluxus und Zero vermischen sich in „Paris am Rhein“ zum kreativen Nährboden Sigmar Polkes.

 

Sigmar Polke
Hippies_aus_Duesseldorf

Anfang der 1970er-Jahre zieht Polke nach Willich auf den Gaspelhof. Hier wohnten und malten die „Hippies aus Düsseldorf“ gemeinsam. Bei vielen Kunstwerken, die hier entstanden, ist heute gar nicht klar, wer sie überhaupt gemalt hat.

 

Nur so viel ist sicher: Polke war fast immer beteiligt. Die Anziehungskraft des Kreativzentrums Gaspelhof ging weit über die Düsseldorfer Szene hinaus: Carl Andre, einer der Urväter der Minimal-Art, war ebenso zu Besuch wie die Stars der Performance-Kunst Gilbert & George. Auch der jüngere Martin Kippenberger, der noch in Hamburg studierte als Polke dort bereits Dozent war, war ein gern gesehener Gast auf dem Gaspelhof.

Wenn Sie mehr Informationen erhalten möchten, kontaktieren Sie uns:

Wir informieren Sie gerne.