Andy Warhol

Andy_Warhol
Andy Warhol is know as
  • Painter
  • Graphic artist
  • Filmmaker
  • Designer
  • Main representative of pop art

Andy Warhol (born 1928 as Andrew Warhola) was the leading figure in American Pop Art. His works of art address the tension between individual artistic expression and the visual culture of the world of commodity and mass media, which spread in the 1960s. His work includes paintings, silkscreens, photography, film and sculpture. His most famous works are the depictions of Campbell’s soup cans (1962) and Marilyn Monroe (1962).

Warhol grew up in Pittsburgh and initially pursued a highly successful career as a commercial artist. In the late 1950s, he began exhibiting his works in various galleries and was quickly noticed as an influential and controversial artist. His New York studio, “The Factory” is considered legendary. Here, intellectuals, Hollywood stars, artists, wealthy patrons as well as drag queens and bohemians from the street met. Warhol coined the phrase that in the future, every person will have his “15 minutes of fame”. In the late 1960s, he worked as a producer and manager of the rock band The Velvet Underground. Warhol was the victim of an assassination attempt in 1968 when actress and women’s rights activist Valerie Solanas invaded his studio and shot at the artist. In February 1987 Warhol died of cardiac arrhythmia.

There have been numerous retrospectives on Andy Warhol’s work in major museums around the world, including the New York Museum of Modern Art, the Tate Modern in London, and the Neue Nationalgalerie in Berlin. There have been many important books and documentary films about Warhol. The Andy Warhol Museum in its native city of Pittsburgh, which holds large numbers of Warhol works, is the largest single-artist museum in the United States. Warhol’s paintings are among the most expensive works of art ever sold worldwide. The record to date is his picture “Silver Car Crash (Double Disaster)”, which was sold in 2013 for over 100 million USD. Works by Warhol can be found today in the collection of the National Portrait Gallery, London, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, the Whitney Museum of American Art, New York, the Museo Guggenheim de Arte Moderno y Contemporáneo, Bilbao and the Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam.

Latest news

contact details

Social Profiles

Wenn Sie mehr Informationen erhalten möchten, kontaktieren Sie uns:

Would you like to know more?

Andy Warhol

Andy_Warhol
  • Maler
  • Grafiker
  • Filmemacher
  • Designer
  • Hauptvertreter der pop-Art

Andy Warhol (1928 als Andrew Warhola geboren) war die führende Persönlichkeit der amerikanischen Pop-Art. Seine Kunstwerke thematisieren das Spannungsfeld von individuell-künstlerischem Ausdruck und der visuellen Kultur der Warenwelt und Massenmedien, die sich in den 60er-Jahren verbreitete. Sein Schaffen umfasst Gemälde, Siebdrucke, Fotographie, Film und Skulptur. Seine bekanntesten Werke sind die Darstellungen von Campbell´s Suppendosen (1962) und von Marilyn Monroe (1962).

Warhol wuchs in Pittsburgh auf und verfolgte anfangs eine sehr erfolgreiche Karriere als Werbegrafiker. In den späten 1950er-Jahren begann er seine Werke in verschiedenen Galerien auszustellen und fand so schnell Beachtung als einflussreicher und kontrovers diskutierter Künstler. Sein New Yorker Studio, „The Factory“ gilt als legendär. Hier trafen sich Intellektuelle, Hollywood-Stars, Künstler, wohlhabende Mäzene ebenso wie Drag Queens und Bohemiens von der Straße. Warhol prägte den Satz, dass in der Zukunft jeder Mensch seine „15 minutes of fame“ haben werde. In den späten 1960er-Jahren war er als Produzent und Manager der Rockband The Velvet Underground tätig. 1968 wurde Warhol Opfer eines Attentats, als die Schauspielerin und Frauenrechtlerin Valerie Solanas in sein Studio eindrang und auf den Künstler schoss. Im Februar 1987 starb Warhol an Herzrhythmusstörungen.

Zum Werk von Andy Warhol gab es zahlreiche Retrospektiven in den wichtigsten Museen der Welt, darunter das Museum of Modern Art in New York, die Tate Modern in London und die Neue Nationalgalerie in Berlin. Es sind viele wichtige Bücher und Dokumentarfilme über Warhol erschienen. Das Andy Warhol-Museum in seiner Geburtsstadt Pittsburgh, das große Bestände an Warhol-Werken hält, ist das größte einem einzelnen Künstler gewidmete Museum in den USA. Warhols Gemälde gehören zu den teuersten Kunstwerken, die jemals weltweit verkauft wurden. Den Rekord stellt bis dato sein Bild „Silver Car Crash (Double Disaster)“, das 2013 für über 100 Mio. USD verkauft wurde. Werke von Warhol befinden sich heute unter anderem in der Sammlung der National Portrait Gallery, London, des Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, des Whitney Museum of American Art, New York, des Museo Guggenheim de Arte Moderno y Contemporáneo, Bilbao und des Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam.

Aktuelle News

Kontaktinfos

Social-Profile

Wenn Sie mehr Informationen erhalten möchten, kontaktieren Sie uns:

Möchten Sie mehr erfahren?