Joseph Beuys

Joseph_Beuys
Joseph Beuys is know as
  • Performance artist
  • Sculptor
  • Drawer
  • Art theoretician

Joseph Beuys (1921 – 1986) is one of the most important action artists, who entered art history through his happenings, performances and installations. Legendary is his saying “every man is an artist”. In addition to artistic creation Beuys shaped his time through controversial debates on art, politics, the environment and social coexistence. In the dispute with the administration of the Düsseldorf Art Academy for the admission of new students, it came in 1972 to scandal: together with his students, Beuys occupied the office of the university, after which he was dismissed by the then Minister of Science Johannes Rau without notice. Beuys is now considered one of the most influential artists of the second half of the 20th century.

Beuys was master student with Ewald Mataré at the Düsseldorf Art Academy until 1953. In 1961 he was appointed professor of monumental sculpture and counted today world-famous artists such as Katharina Sieverding, Jörg Immendorff, Blinky Palermo and Sigmar Polke to his students. Beuys described teaching as his greatest art.

Joseph_Beuys_

He described the difficulty of explaining things in his legendary performance „Wie man dem toten Hasen die Bilder erklärt“ (1965), in which he explains his art for three hours to a dead rabbit covered in honey and gold leaf. Already in 1964 Beuys had attended the Documenta III in Kassel. This was followed by solo exhibitions, which brought commercial success. His gallerist René Block sold the installation “The pack (das Rudel)” in 1969, which consisted of an old VW bus and 24 sleds, for then incredible 100,000 DM on the Cologne art market, the precursor of today’s Art Cologne.

The market for his works then increased significantly. In the art compass of 1973 Beuys took fourth place in front of Yves Klein, 1978 second and in 1979 and 1980 the first place, even before Robert Rauschenberg and Andy Warhol. In 1980, the Munich Lenbachhaus bought the work “zeige deine Wunde“, composed of old corpses and fat, for 270,000 marks. Due to the unusual materials and the difficult accessibility of the work, it was considered “the most expensive bulky waste ever”. In 2016 Beuys cracked the limit of an auction sale of one million USD for the first time.

Latest news

contact details

Social Profiles

Wenn Sie mehr Informationen erhalten möchten, kontaktieren Sie uns:

Would you like to know more?

Joseph Beuys

Joseph_Beuys
  • Aktionskünstler
  • Bildhauer
  • Zeichner
  • Kunsttheoretiker

Joseph Beuys (1921 – 1986) ist einer der bedeutendsten Aktionskünstler, der durch seine Happenings, Performances und Installationen in die Kunstgeschichte einging. Legendär ist sein Ausspruch „jeder Mensch ist ein Künstler“. Neben dem künstlerischen Schaffen prägte Beuys seine Zeit durch kontroverse Debatten über Kunst, Politik, Umwelt und das soziale Zusammenleben. Im Streit mit der Verwaltung der Düsseldorfer Kunstakademie um die Zulassung neuer Studenten, kam es 1972 zum Eklat: Beuys besetzte mit seinen Studenten das Sekretariat der Hochschule, woraufhin er vom damaligen Wissenschaftsminister Johannes Rau fristlos entlassen wurde. Beuys gilt heute als einer der einflussreichsten Künstler aus der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts.

Beuys war bis 1953 Meisterschüler bei Ewald Mataré an der Düsseldorfer Kunstakademie. 1961 wurde er zum Professor für monumentale Skulptur ernannt und zählte heute weltbekannte Künstler wie Katharina Sieverding, Jörg Immendorff, Blinky Palermo und Sigmar Polke zu seinen Schülern. Beuys bezeichnete die Lehrtätigkeit als seine größte Kunst.

Joseph_Beuys_

Die Schwierigkeit Dinge zu erklären, thematisierte er in seiner legendären Performance „Wie man dem toten Hasen die Bilder erklärt“ (1965), in der er einem toten, mit Honig und Blattgold bedeckten Hasen drei Stunden lang seine Kunst erklärt. Bereits 1964 hatte Beuys an der Documenta III in Kassel teilgenommen. Es folgten Einzelausstellungen, die den kommerziellen Erfolg mit sich brachten. Sein Galerist René Block verkaufte 1969 die Installation „The pack (das Rudel)“, die aus einem alten VW-Bus und 24 Schlitten bestand, für damals unglaubliche 100.000 DM auf dem Kölner Kunstmarkt, dem Vorläufer der heutigen Art Cologne.

Der Markt für seine Werke zog daraufhin deutlich an. Im Kunstkompass von 1973 belegte Beuys den vierten Platz vor Yves Klein, 1978 den zweiten und 1979 und 1980 den ersten Platz, noch vor Robert Rauschenberg und Andy Warhol. 1980 kaufte das Münchener Lenbachhaus das Werk „zeige deine Wunde“, aus alten Leichenbahren und Fett zusammengesetzt, für 270.000 Mark an. Aufgrund der ungewöhnlichen Materialien und der schweren Zugänglichkeit des Werkes galt es als „teuerster Sperrmüll alles Zeiten“. 2016 knackte Beuys erstmals die Grenze eines Auktionszuschlages von einer Million USD.

Aktuelle News

Kontaktinfos

Social-Profile

Wenn Sie mehr Informationen erhalten möchten, kontaktieren Sie uns:

Möchten Sie mehr erfahren?